1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

New to PHP & confused!

Hi all,
    thanks for being here because I could use some help.
    I hope this is not a really dumb question, but here goes anyway.

I've recently purchased a PHP scrip for a classifieds ads website for my small local community.

I've never worked with a PHP website script before, and I'm confused, here's my problem. When I logon to my server and view my website files, I do not see any HTML files that I can actually download and work on using Dream Weaver. All files are PHP. When I download and open a PHP files in Dream Weaver, such as the index.php page, there's nothing there to work on other then the PHP script. How the heck can I work on my pages as HTML files so I can ad some pictures and links etc. to the pages?
    I know HTML Ok, and I've never had a problem working on my pages before, but If I can't see the actual HTML side of the pages, I can't work on them. What am I missing?
    I hope someone here knows what I'm talking about and can point me in the right direction. Thanks in advance for any help anyone can provide.
  3. Devshed Beginner (1000 - 1499 posts)

PHP does not equal HTML.

PHP produces HTML.

So the answer to your question is, you can't. You can't open a PHP file and edit the HTML of your page. You can however learn PHP and use it to produce a page for you.

That being said, your PHP file may contain bits of HTML that you can edit directly. It really just depends. It sounds like your best bet is to spend $20 on a book if you intend on doing this. Otherwise, spend $20 and have a someone else make a few simple edits for you.
    Don't like me? Click it.

Scripting problems? Windows questions? Ask the Windows Guru!

Stay up to date with all of my latest content. Follow me on Twitter!

Help us help you! Post your exact error message with these easy tips!
  5. No Profile Picture
    Lost in code
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)