1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Problems setting <td> margins

I have some directions that I would like to display in two columns on a login page. I have set up a table to display the instructions for students and employees side by side. As it displays on my browser, the text of the instructions are formatted as I specify in the "style" except for the "margin-left" and "margin-right" parameters. So, in my browser, the code below shows up with the text justified, but the text of one column is right up against the text of the other column, making it very difficult to read.

I have whittled it down to as little complexity, in it's own little isolated HTML file to try and isolate the problem, but now I am stumped. Admittedly, I have very little experience with web development, so I'm sure this is a really stupid error on my part. I actually had this working just the way I wanted it the first time I made it, but my profile got lost that same day, so I had no backup

Here's the code, and thanks in advance for any help!

Code:
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
    <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" >
    <head>
        <title>Untitled Page</title>
    </head>
    <body>

<table>
                <tr>
                    <th style="text-align:center;">
                        Students
                    </th>
                    <th style="text-align:center;">
                        Employees
                    </th>
                </tr>
                <tr>
                    <td style="width:50%;margin-right:10px;vertical-align:top;text-align:justify;">
                        If you have never claimed your account or set up a password,
                        <a href="http://some.bslink.edu">
                            <span style="text-decoration:underline;">
                                please click here to claim your account.