1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Advice on a new project

Hello all, hope this message finds you well.

I am new to programming and I have begun planning a new project. The project is simply this, I will send diagnostic info from a Linux machine to a server. The server will then display the data in a webpage. I have many Linux machines that will transmit the data on a daily basis; therefore, I am wanting to create a one stop shop so to speak so I can simply go to the specific URL and see the same data I would otherwise have to go into each individual machine.

The problem that I am running into is trying to figure out the best way to get the data to the server and in what format i.e. txt, csv, or a TCP/UDP datagram.

I am not asking anyone to solve this problem for me because I do not believe I will learn that way. I am simply asking if someone would be willing to steer me in the right direction and allow me to pick their brain for a bit. I would greatly appreciate any feedback.

I realize this room is for HTML and if I am posting in the wrong room I apologize. I was torn between the Linux forum and this one and since I will ultimately be using HTML, I chose here.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

I answered this [here].
  5. CSS & JS/DOM Adept
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Welcome to DevShed Forums, Brian Kent.

Please don't start threads on the same topic in multiple forums. Please choose the forum you feel is best. (A moderator can always move your thread later, if needed.)

Most web pages are made up of code from more languages than just HTML, so just because you want to make a web page, does not mean your question is primarily about HTML.
    Spreading knowledge, one newbie at a time.

Check out my blog. | Learn CSS. | PHP includes | X/HTML Validator | CSS validator | Common CSS Mistakes | Common JS Mistakes