1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

IIS 7 rewrite stopped working locally

I'm not a programmer, but I managed to use the IIS rewrite tool to take out the .aspx extension on my pages. I don't know if this has any benefit, but as a result, I point my hyperlinks to, for instance, "contact" instead of "contact.aspx" (I just figure end users would find it easier to remember).

Anyway, I downloaded some things for Visual Studio 2010, and they didn't appear to alter my web.config or global.asax, but although my hyperlinks (to the rewrote urls) work fine on the website, they don't work fine locally.

Is this an issue I should care about? If so, does anybody have any suggestions? Thanks for any help you can offer!

Jason Weber
  3. No Profile Picture

Hi Jason,

Thats correct, contact is much more easier to remember than contact.aspx and its much more user friendly

as your URL's are working on server that means asp.net rewrite module is present on the server where as if its not working on your local machine then make sure you have asp.net rewrite module installed on local machine

Additionally I would suggest you to consider ISAPI Rewrite which is one of the widely used rewrite tool and you can generate any form of URLs with the help of, you have to just design a rule for it and place it in to .htaccess file
  5. No Profile Picture

Thumbs up Thank you!

Originally Posted by StormInternet
    Hi Jason,

Thats correct, contact is much more easier to remember than contact.aspx and its much more user friendly

as your URL's are working on server that means asp.net rewrite module is present on the server where as if its not working on your local machine then make sure you have asp.net rewrite module installed on local machine

Additionally I would suggest you to consider ISAPI Rewrite which is one of the widely used rewrite tool and you can generate any form of URLs with the help of, you have to just design a rule for it and place it in to .htaccess file