1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Help with IIS permissions

Setup: Windows XP Pro running IIS on a domain with a static 192.168.x.x IP addy. Running a router that is dhcp enabled with a built in firewall and port 80 is open.

Problem: Cannot view the webpage externally using domain name. Cannot view page internally using the domain name but can view it by using the IP address from inside the network.

If there's anyone that can assist me with this problem, please feel free to email me. It's driving me nuts. I've looked at all the permission settings and they appear to be correct. I am a novice at IIS and this is a company computer. (Just got hired as the sys admin and would like to make a decent impression. lol)

If there's any other info that is needed, let me know and I'll get it for you. Thanks.
  3. Retired Moderator
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Hi,

For the first problem:

Problem: Cannot view the webpage externally using domain name.
    Have you purchased the domain name with a domain registering company? You need to buy the domain and set up DNS for it so that when anyone types in the domain name it goes to your router. Do you have a static IP address? If you do, it should be quite easy to use a company such as ZoneEdit (http://www.zoneedit.com) to make all requests to the domain name forward to your IP address. As long as the port 80 is open on the router and forwarding to your IIS server, you should be able to see the website. If this doesn't work, try accessing the site externally using the external IP address of the router.

If you don't have a dynamic IP address, you'll need to use something like DynDNS (http://www.dyndns.org/).

Cannot view page internally using the domain name but can view it by using the IP address from inside the network.