1. No Profile Picture
    Gödelian monster
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

A Jakarta overview, please

Hi all,

I managed to get Apache Jakarta/Tomcat installed on my FreeBSD server, running servlets and JSP. I just have a few very general questions for those of you with server-side Java experience.

I know the general concepts behind Java, but I am just bewilderd by all the different choices available at http://jakarta.apache.org/

I mean, we go from "Alexandria" to "ORO" to "struts" to "Velocity", etc... I am fairly certain that Java will play a large part in the future of some of the projects I am developing, and I'm trying to decide where to spend my time.

Here is where I am coming from: I have been doing server-side development for 3 years with PHP, and to a lesser extent with Perl. I am also familiar with the object-oriented nature of Javascript, much of which was derived from Java. I am at the point now where I need to start thinking about enterprise-level systems, and n-tier approaches to web applications.

I am very happy with PHP and will continue to use it in just about every project I produce, but I want to start "hooking up" the smaller applications and libraries I produce into larger interfaces (in Java), as well as use some of the more advanced aspects of Java for network programming, and distributed resources. I won't necessarily be communicating to Java only through PHP, though; I still will probably need some JSP or Servlet front-end stuff also.

In other words, Java will become intertwined with a lot of what I am doing, but leaning more toward the middle or back-end, with PHP more toward the front end.

Now, having said that mouthfull, I am looking for a good place to start: I want to make the best use of Apache's Jakarta resources.

1. Which of the many Jakarta technologies is most central, and of most likely benefit to what I intend?

2. Given my background, where would I find the easiest way to get started learning server-side Java?