Thread: Jsp

1. No Profile Picture
    =) wannabe?
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

Jsp

I read that PHP is better to use on small projects, but JSP is for big projects. I've noticed that on many big and small sites.

the question is: Why learn php in the first place? I mean if you know jsp you can do small projects anyway.

I'm just a newbie who thinks he started off learning wrong language.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Cthulu-ish
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

that's a question that I think has a fairly unpleasant answer.

I love PHP (and I have found some decent work developing in it) but in all reality if you want to make money and work on big paying projects JSP or ASP is the way to go. The debate I think goes farther than what is possible in each language.

there are wonderful things about all of them but the fact is that companies trust proprietary software. when you're pitching a software solution it makes people more comfortable when you say "Sun" or "Microsoft". So until perceptions change you will make more money with JSP or ASP.

however I learned programming logic with PHP and the limited OO functionality of PHP piqued my curiosity to more robust OO languages so personally I owe it a lot (it was the least frustrating language I had tried). also for small projects you will probably find that your development time is MUCH faster with PHP.
  5. No Profile Picture
    Moderator =(8^(|)
    Devshed Intermediate (1500 - 1999 posts)

It's easier and cheaper to get hosting for php, too. It's just a more common language to have installed on a shared host.

If you're setting up your own server, or have a hosting enviorment setup for J2EE, then there's no reason you couldn't do a smaller project with Java.