1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

passing unusual text

I'm really new to JSP, but my partner has been working with it for quite awhile. He's encountered a problem that I believe can be addressed easily, but I can't find anything about this in the books, and I'm not quite sure what I need to look for.

We're passing serveral parameters to the next window as part of an sql "where" clause to select data based upon the criteria selected. It works great until we select criteria with certain characters, such as the British currency sign.

The temporary solution is to go through the data and make sure we bypass any fields with these characters, NOT a good solution, but neither of us can figure out a permanent solution, since it's not a good idea to have to sift through the data and figure out the hexadecimal for each and every possible non-alphanumeric character so that it doesn't trash our stuff.

Any ideas or suggestions are most welcome. Thank you so much for you time.

Kind regards,
    Pat Flickner
    Programmer at large
  3. No Profile Picture

there is a class called URLEncode to care of all these encoding...
    try using it...

--aabha
  5. No Profile Picture

in the first place, such signs should not exist in the database or front end.

But anyway I believe you can look at things like itemID. Try implementing a ID field in yer database as autonumber so that you can set your desc to be anything.
  7. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Unhappy

Thanks for the urlencode, but it turns out it's no good on anything less than MSIE 5.5, and with the pace at which our other markets move, it could be another year before they upgrade, so we're stuck. We did try it, it works, but we had to pull it when we found out that not everyone is even at 5.0 yet.