1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Simple Pathfinding Prog

Hey there devShed!

I have been given a piece of coursework and before I go wandering off on my own and messing things up I figured I should best start with a forum of experts.

• The requirements for the program are to have a "Robot" that moves from one location to another read in from a file, on a 20x20 grid.

• It can only move forward and turn to look in the directions of NORTH, EAST, SOUTH, WEST.

• There are also landmarks stored in another file, record the ones I pass over

• Then print out how far the robot moved.

Upgrades (Not necessary for a pass)
    • Graphics using swing.

• Being able to rotate in any direction of 360 degrees.

• Still print out how far the robot moved but now it's not as simple as I'd need to use trig. now.

I am a big newbie to programming as a whole, only the basic things I have done through uni I know and I would like any input you guys could give me on how best to start this bad boy of an assignment.

Kind regards,
    Accendo
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

I gave you some ideas in your crosspost.
  5. No Profile Picture

Hey there st, ok as you mentioned the other side of this assignment was a class diagram to illustrate; Classes, Attributes and Methods.

This is the tutor's near to perfect version:

I have a lot of classes begun based upon this model, however I am stuck at how I would read in the waypoint's to the robot, then how the robot would know which is the next one :'(. How would I work the Landmark/Waypoint with the LandmarkList /WaypointList too :S.

But here is my Robot class.

Code:
    public class Robot
    	{
    		int xpos = 0;
    		int ypos = 0;
    		int distance = 0;
    		LandmarkList Lm;

public int getDistance()
    		{
    			return distance;
    		}

getVisited()
    		{
    			return Lm;
    		}

flipLandmark()
    		{

}

move()
    		{
    			if (xpos < [Next waypoint].getX()){