Thread: sort Strings

1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question sort Strings

Hi,

I'm working on a part of an application where you can choose a currency from a table. The table is filled via a method called "getAllCurrencies". each row contains the abbreviation as well as the currency's name.

My problem is, the displayed 2-column table is unsorted so far.
    My predecessor simply reads the abbreviations into one String array and the names into another and then
    puts them together in a java.util.properties object.
    getAllCurrencies then returns the properties object.

As I'm quite new to Java, I've no idea how to sort this, as I've read that the properties class itself doesn't provide a sort-method.
    Should I use another class instead of properties inside the method?
    It will still have to return a properties object, as I don't know if this method is called elsewhere.

Thanks in advance,

10_little_orcs
  3. No Profile Picture
    Moderator =(8^(|)
    Devshed Intermediate (1500 - 1999 posts)

Where do you get the abbreviations and currencys? Database or text file? If it's in a database, you can order them in the query. This would be easier.
  5. No Profile Picture

Unfortunately I get the currencies via a remote command method from a text file on a distant server, so there is no query.
    And this remote command method is something I mustn't touch, because several other applications use it.
  7. No Profile Picture
    Clueless llama
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

EDIT: realized a problem with my reply. You have 2 arrays that must stay in sync, so the sorting method I suggested will cause problems. There is probably a way to keep them in sync, but you will have to give it some thought. Below is my original reply.