1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Post need help creating CSV file from data ( from oracle db), using java

hi,

I'm trying to create CSV using Java-Jsp from data in oracle db. I've been pointed to the Ostermiller utility. I have very large number of records.

I basically get each row, put it in a string and use the Ostermiller utility (CSVPrinter) to parse and put the data in a text file. However, with very large number of records, i get java.lang.outofmemory error.

Has anybody else encountered this problem ? I want to know if my approach is wrong or if i'm not implementing this correctly. Please let me know if i'm being too descriptive (I'll post the code segment otherwise ). I'm new to all this so pl

Thanks,
  3. Feelin' Groovy
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

My guess is that you're not implementing your solution correctly. I've had no problems with Ostermiller's utilities.

Please post a short, concise, executable example of what you're trying to do. This does not have to be the actual code you are using. Write a small example that demonstrates your intent, and only that. Wrap the code in a class and give it a main method that runs it - if we can just copy and paste the code into a text file, compile it and run it without any changes, then we can be sure that we haven't made incorrect assumptions about how you are using it.

Comments on this post

• stdunbar agrees : What he said - err on the side of too much information, not too little
    Yawmark
    class Sig{public static void main(String...args){\u0066or(int
    \u0020$:"v\"ʲ\"vΤ\"".to\u0043h\u0061rArray()
    )System./*goto/*$/%\u0126//^\u002A\u002Fout.print((char)(($>>
    +(~'"'&'#'))+('<'>>('\\'/'.')/\u002Array.const(~1)\*\u002F)));}}
  5. No Profile Picture

Hi Yawmark,

The out of memory error only occurs for large number of rows of records ( ~ 400,000 rows returned from querying the db). For smaller numbers, my implementation produces the CSV file just fine.