Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

JSP newbie: My first JavaBean

Hey guys. This is my first time with JSP, and I'm trying to create a JavaBean. I seem to be getting an error when I try to set up the following:

I have a folder called "test" which is the root of my app. Under this directory, I have a folder called "WEB-INF", then a folder called "classes" then the folder called "mathy". Under "mathy" I have a the java file called average.java along with the compiled class file.

The code for average.java is as follows:

package mathy;
    import java.io.Serializable;

public class average implements Serializable {

private double total = 0;
    public average(double n1, double n2, double n3) {
    total = n1 + n2 + n3;
    total = total / 3;
    }
    public double getAverage() {
    return total;
    }
    }

then under the original "test" folder, I have a jsp page called "exp-1.jsp" with the following code:

<% mathy.average av1 = new mathy.average(34.4, 56.1, 694.3); %>

Now, I'm not trying to execute any methods, just trying to see if a bean can be made. But now luck. Can anyone help? Thanks, I really appreciate it.

I get the following error by the way with Tomcat Version 4.0-b5:

A Servlet Exception Has Occurred
    org.apache.jasper.JasperException: Unable to compile class for JSPC:\jakarta-tomcat-4.0-b5\work\localhost\test\exp_0002d4_jsp.java:55: Class mathy.average not found.
    mathy.average av1 = new mathy.average(34.4, 56.1, 694.3);
    ^
    C:\jakarta-tomcat-4.0-b5\work\localhost\test\exp_0002d4_jsp.java:55: Class mathy.average not found.
    mathy.average av1 = new mathy.average(34.4, 56.1, 694.3);
    ^
    2 errors
  3. No Profile Picture
    Moderator =(8^(|)
    Devshed Intermediate (1500 - 1999 posts)

Stick this at the top of your jsp file. Should be the second line or so, after your language declaration.
    Code:
    <%@ page import="mathy.average" %>
  5. Contributing User