Thread: Java class help

1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Java class help

I have to admit I have little experience with java. I mainly program with some of the older languages. I was reading information about setting up a messaging client, and I have no idea what he is talking about in the last step.

Send your first Jabber message
    To send a Jabber instant message programmatically, you must initialize the Muse Jabber API. Do that by creating an instance of the JabberContext class, then use the context as a parameter to the createSession() method on the Jabber session factory class:

1 // Initialize the Jabber context
    2 JabberContext jabberContext = new JabberContext("user", "pass", "localhost");
    4 // Create an instance of the Jabber session factory
    5 Jabber jabber = new Jabber();
    6 // Create the new session
    7 JabberSession jabberSession = jabber.createSession(jabberContext);

The above example shows the creation of a new context at line 2. The JabberContext stores specific user-related information (username, password, server address) and also contains a unique session identifier when the session is later established using the context. For illustration purposes, I have hardcoded the username, password, and server.

At line 5, a Jabber session factory is created, which we use at line 7 to create a new JabberSession, Muse's main interface into the services offered by the Jabber server. The server's main services are:

Connection services: For connecting to and disconnecting from the Jabber server
    User service: For user authentication and registration
    Presence service: For receiving presence information from other users/services and broadcasting your own presence
    Roster service: Jabber-speak for a buddy list or address book
    Chat service: Sends messages of various typesógroup chat, private messages, headlines, and so on