1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question SSL - Database Issue

I recently switched web hosts and my Secure Socket Layer is on a different server from the database and most of my files. Also, my web host keeps the web sites and SSL for a web site separated.

Is there any way I can access the database from the SSL?

When attempting to do so in ASP, I got the following message:

Make sure that the path name is spelled correctly and that you are connected to the server on which the file resides.

Is connecting to a database from an SSL on a different server also a problem using JSP, Java?

Robin
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

I'm not sure what you are asking.

What do you mean by your SSL is on a differant server?
    Do you mean your SSL enabled applicaton server is on a differant physical box than your database server?

Please elaborate[sp?].
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Sm00ve,

I'm not technical when it comes to hardware. All I know is that my application is on one server and the Secure Socket Layer for my application is on another server.

Also, is it possible to FTP a file (using code) to my SSL?
    If so, how would I do this?

Thanks,

Robin
  7. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Ok, I apologize if I seem difficult, I am trying to understand the question better so I can help.

Does your application use SSL in the code that you wrote? What I mean is does your application use Java's SSL api's?

or

Did your old was SSL enabled on the old Application Server software?

I am asking because these are the only 2 ways I know how to use SSL.

SSL is only a secure protocal that encrypts the data being sent over the internet. So when you say things like "from the SSL" and " to my SSL" I get confused.
  9. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User