1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

accessing style backgroundColor from javascript

Hi all,

I'm a bit of a noob :confused:, My question is this: how can I access the background color of chi_0_0?

I have a style called

#chi_0_0 {position:absolute; left:0; top:0; background-color:"#00ff00"; width=8; height=8; text-align:center;}

Later on I have a div element like so:

<div id="chi_0_0" onmouseover="javascript:setpreviewcolor(this.style.backgroundColor)"></div>

The element displays on the screen with the right color (#00ff00). I want to pass the background color of the element into the Javascript function setpreviewcolor, to change other elements to the same color.

But chi_0_0.style.backgroundColor is undefined inside the function "setpreviewcolor".

How can I access the background color of chi_0_0?

Thanks in advance,
    Merl
  3. No Profile Picture
    Senior Citizen
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

Couple of things:

Haven't got a 'style' there called 'chi_0_0' - that's an element, identified by its unique id; in CSS, it becomes a selector, referencing the element you want the styles applied to.

Presumably the reason this.style.backgroundColor isn't being passed (if that's the problem) is that you havent assigned your CSS inline - in the HTML itself:

<div id="chi_0_0" style="background-color:#00ff00;"....>

Since the .style property/object you're trying to get the background-color value from is the JavaScript equivalent of the inline style attribute, if you don't set the second, you won't get anything out of the first. Styles do cascade down from 'above' on elements - the basic point of CSS - but they don't get magically written into the element's .style property if you assign them in global style sheets. IE5+ has a (proprietary) .currentStyle property - read-only - which does generally hold the cascaded style. Try it and see:

setpreviewcolor(this.currentStyle.backgroundColor)