1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

addEventListener

i've mentioned before that i have not programmed for many years. i just started studying again last year in December. to my surprise, the whole world is against inline javascript which i find odd. i've never had problems with inline js. i always use a return: onclick="return myfunction();"

anyway, i read about event listeners which are really reinventing the wheel because onclick="" already employs an event listener. very strange stuff but just to move along with society, i've decided to try to implement this new practice but i hate jquery. i just want js/ecmascript. i can't seem to get a single event to work. i guess that i don't really understand this concept.

i wish to have a click event which launches a function with arguments/params. like so:

function mycssOverlay(number) {
    //commands to handle the overlay
    return;
    }

inline js works perfectly: onclick="return mycssOverlay(parseInt(1, 10));"

then i try eventlistener in an external script:
    document.getElementById("overlaymenu").addEventListener("click", mycssOverlay(parseInt(1, 10)));

but nothing happens. i think that i cannot pass args to a function in an eventlistener?
    i'm hoping someone can help me figure this out or i'll just stick with inline js and a csp.

Thanks.
  3. Impoverished Moderator
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Inline event handlers are discouraged for one simple reason: you can't have more than one. If you want an onclick for something and make it inline, you can't add another. addEventListener lets you do that.

That said, in trivial situations it's not so bad. Very trivial. And if the alternative (a full <script>) is substantially more work. Since you need a <script> for the mycssOverlay function you shouldn't use onclick.

Originally Posted by phpjs81
    inline js works perfectly: onclick="return mycssOverlay(parseInt(1, 10));"