1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Expand/Collapse content, How to

I'm making a few pages for my first real web page & it's going to have some poetry on it. Now, some poems are very short, like haiku, for example.

What I'm looking for is a way to put several poems on a page with some sort of a contents, or perhaps list. The title of each poem, when clicked upon, would expand downward showing the actual poem.

A good example of this is I'm sure you may have seen a "FAQs" section of a website, a list of questions. You click the question, it shows the answer beneath it, pushing the other questions down. Click it again, it hides the answer.

I need it to validate XHTML 1.0 Strict, etc. & I have no server side scripting available, so. I am still a fair beginner to XHTML & CSS, so.

Any ideas how one can go about accomplishing this? Is it possible with just XHTML & CSS?

I'm really concerned about accessibility & validation, perhaps one could use a Listbox at the top of the DIV or something. If anyone has other ideas of how to display a lot of small content like this on a single page, I'm open to other ideas, too!
  3. CSS & JS/DOM Adept
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

You would need unobtrusive JavaScript to do this. (In this case unobtrusive means that the content would only be hidden when JavaScript was available to make it visible.)

This is close to what you want. Finding quality tutorials is difficult.

After you read that, feel free to post your questions here.

* Moved to the JavaScript Forum *

P.S. Thanks for using a descriptive title.
    Spreading knowledge, one newbie at a time.

Learn CSS. | PHP includes | HTML Validator | CSS validator

Remember people spend most of their time on other people's sites (so don't violate web design conventions).
  5. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)