1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question Finding the URL to "Go" button?

Dear all, I'm not a developer and I also can't read JavaScript.

I hope someone will be so kind to help me with the interpretation of the JavaScript code.

THE PROBLEM DESCRIPTION:
    I would like to find a direct link for downloading a .csv file for use with wget command:
    Code:
    europeanequities.nyx.com/nl/popup/data/download?ml=nyx_pd_stocks&cmd=default&formKey=nyx_pd_filter_values%3A802a59dc69b9f3f1e2a04435d8b478b  1

This is a harmless .csv file, which contains daily stock data from the NYSE Euronext web page. When clicking the "Go" button on this page, I'm asked to "Open" or "Save" the file.

I have scanned through the source code of the page in hope to be able to compile the direct link to the file, but I was not able to understand what this code does.

Please have a look at it. If someone at least can tell me if this is possible that would already help a lot.

Thanks in advance!
  3. No Profile Picture

The direct link to the file is what will be in your URL bar if you select OPEN (assuming that your browser opens the file in the browser and not in an external application). For example, when I click GO in Chrome with the defaults selected, I am taken to europeanequities.nyx.com/nl/popup/data/download?ml=nyx_pd_stocks&cmd=default&formKey=nyx_pd_filter_values%3A802a59dc69b9f3f1e2a04435d8b478b 1
  5. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by gsharp
    The direct link to the file is what will be in your URL bar if you select OPEN (assuming that your browser opens the file in the browser and not in an external application). For example, when I click GO in Chrome with the defaults selected, I am taken to europeanequities.nyx.com/nl/popup/data/download?ml=nyx_pd_stocks&cmd=default&formKey=nyx_pd_filter_values%3A802a59dc69b9f3f1e2a04435d8b478b 1
    Thanks gsharp, but it is not that simple.