1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

How to gear my search

I am trying to find a good tutorial on how to create select drop down menus that are based off the prior choice. So what I am asking is lets say that I have one drop down list with chevy, dodge, ford. I choose chevy, in the second select drop down list I would only see things like corvette not viper or mustang. I hope that this is question is clear. I have been looking on google and youtube and I just cant find what I am looking for where they break it down step by step and explain what everything is doing. I hope that there is something out there like this because I have no knowledge of javascript or jQuery and that is why I need to know what is what. Oh, the values of the select tags would be pulled out of the database.
  3. A Not To Shabby Code Smurf
    Devshed Beginner (1000 - 1499 posts)

What your looking for; is referred to as a "chained select menu". If your wanting to pull data from your database to create new options, in your chained select menu; you need to look into a "AJAX chained select menu". Do a search on these topics and you should find several tutorials/examples; on how to do this.

Comments on this post

• natturefrk agrees : Just wanted to say thanks
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User