1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Insert HTML in a div

I am new to Javascript and the very first thing I'm trying to do is to have a footer html file which will load in to the footer div on all pages. I have found several different code examples online but none seem to be working. The one I am using right now is:

Code:
    <script src="jquery-1.9.1.min.js"></script>
    <script type = "text/javascript" language = "JavaScript">
          $('#footer').load('footer.html');
    </script>
    The footer.html and the jquery files are in the same location as the html file which this code snippet is being entered in to, and the div is <div id="footer">.

I have tried the above code in both the header and the body to no avail. The footer div remains empty. What am I doing wrong?
  3. A Not To Shabby Code Smurf
    Devshed Beginner (1000 - 1499 posts)

You have to put your web page(s) on a server, for this to work; because jQuery is using AJAX to load the external file. So you cannot get this to work locally, because of Access-Control-Allow-Origin policies (browser security measures). When you put your web page(s) on a server; then..., this is how you would go about doing it:
    Code:
    <script src="http://code.jquery.com/jquery-1.9.1.min.js"></script>
    <div id="footer"></div>
    <script>
    $("#footer").load("footer.html");
    </script>
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Got it thanks! One issue I was having which I figured out was part of my problem was I had the footer.html written up like a regular html file, complete with <html> <body> etc tags. Makes sense now to not have those, since it's just inserting the html content in to the document that already has all that.

Now, to figure out how to write the code to do this on my own, as the professor will just be saving the file to his computer to test it... I'll look around and see what I can find out, but any tips would be appreciated as well