1. No Profile Picture
    <?=php_geek(:p)?>
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question JavaScript: access multiple elements with the same id?

I have a scheduling application that outputs a Gantt chart onto a page. There are many different processes listed and some of them relate to each other. I need to associate the related processes with each other graphically somehow. What I’d like to have happen, is for the user to mouse over any item, and the related items would highlight or have the border or color change.

What I am thinking about trying to do id give all the related elements the same id, id=”foo1” ect… then change the style for that id. The question is how? If I try to do something like getElementById() it returns a single object. How can I do it for every object with the same id? Is there a better way to do this?

Thanks.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

I'm no javascript expert by any means and I usually just play around til I find a solution that works for me. That said...I had cause to want something similiar to what you are asking and the following code is how I achieved it. As far as I know, it only works in IE (I didnt have to worry about other browsers). Maybe you can get some ideas from what I did.

Code:
    <script>
    function highlight(n){
      curDivName = n.name;
      divs = document.getElementsByTagName("div");
      for (ti=0;ti<divs.length;ti++) {
        thisDiv = divs[ti];
        if(thisDiv.name == curDivName){
          thisDiv.style.color = 'red';
        }
     }
    }

function unhighlight(){
      divs = document.getElementsByTagName("div");
      for (ti=0;ti<divs.length;ti++) {
        thisDiv = divs[ti];
        thisDiv.style.color = '';
     }
    }
    </script>

<div name="foo1" onmouseover="highlight(this);" onmouseout="unhighlight();">one</div>
      <div name="foo2" onmouseover="highlight(this);" onmouseout="unhighlight();">two</div>