1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Javascript DHTML Chat Room

I am a bit of a beginner in this area, but does anybody know any good tutorials / code examples for a javascript based chat room? A good example of the type of chat room I am after can be found at www.collegeclub.com in the Instant Messenger Chat feature.

Really, I am looking for any way to code an instant (fairly instant) internet chat room, WITHOUT java or using a HTML page created at the server and using a META Refresh tag.

Any help or pointers to get me started would be great.

Thanks,
    Benji.
  3. No Profile Picture
    The one who gets it done

So you think you can do this with JavaScript? Hmmm. Interesting question. The crux is, information must get from the user to the server (somehow) so that it can then show up in the HTML for other users.

Taking out Java, you are taking out any way of sending the information real-time.

Taking out server-sides, you are taking out any way of getting information to the server.

Someone correct me if I'm crazy, what you want to do is not possible. I hope I'm wrong.

Why not just learn PHP or ASP?

J
  5. No Profile Picture

No, you are right. I didn't quite think this through properly.

The way I have seen it done is clever, and makes it look like there is no refresh. The chat room is split into three frames, an invisible one that does all the refreshing and communication with the server, a middle one that shows the conversation, and a third which allows the user to send a message.

The server db handles the conversation and the hidden frame gets any new comments from it. It then uses a javascript document.write to the conversation frame to make it look like the comment just 'appeared' without a server refresh. It is not realtime, but near enough and removes the flicker effect of the conversation page refreshing cos it never actually refreshes. Very clever and fooled me (not hard I know!!).