1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Of Javascript, Mozilla/Netscape, and tables

I'm relatively new to Javascript and consistently avoid Netscape & Mozilla in order to maintain a pleasantly high quality of life. However, inasmuch as I need my apps to run for Netscape-types as well as us IE people, I have to deal with issues such as this one. I am trying to us javascript to change the background color of a table. This works fine in IE with the following statement:

var tableColor=field+'.bgColor=\'' + color + '\'';
    eval(tableColor);

"field" is a variable containing the name of the table. As I said, IE has no problem with this. Netscape and Mozilla, however, have a rather substantial problem with it.

PLEASE help! I can't afford to spend anymore time on this!

Thanks,
    Tim
  3. mod_dev_shed
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Netscape and Mozilla, however, have a rather substantial problem with it.
    And what would that problem be? Do you get an error? or does the background color just not change? Try this:
    Code:
    var tableColor = field+'.style.backgroundColor="'+color+'"';
    eval(tableColor);
    Another solution is to use getElementByID(). Look that one up; it'll save you some trouble.
    # Jeremy

Explain your problem instead of asking how to do what you decided was the solution.
  5. |<.+#f@#+.&.|
    Devshed Loyal (3000 - 3499 posts)

I'm relatively new to Javascript and consistently avoid Netscape & Mozilla in order to maintain a pleasantly high quality of life.

if you still are new, wouldn't it be better to learn the proper standards first
    http://www.w3.org/DOM/DOMTR
    before you begining to bash browsers.
  7. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

Thats right Mozilla is easier to program for as it follows the standards. It does not require silly hacks just to make things work right.
  9. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Good grief!