1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question Javascript:Update Image ONLY when Image changes!

This is a Javascript question...

I have a page that shows data on a png file. I have written Javascript to update the image at a given frequency.

CODE SNIPPET:
    if (document.images) {
    setTimeout('reloadImage()',10000);
    }

function reloadImage() {
    var now = new Date();

var num_imgs = 10;
    for (var i=1; i<=num_imgs; i++) {
    if (document.images[i]) {
    URL = document.images[i].src.split("?");
    document.images[i].src = URL[0] + '?' + now.getTime();
    }
    }
    setTimeout('reloadImage()',10000);
    }

Which works great, except I get a HUGE amount of data transfer in a 24hour period. The 10 sec frequency is fast, but assume it is needed for this application.

What I would like to do, is check the image to see if it has been changed and only then update it.

I have some working knowledge of client side javascript but very little on server side and not sure the direction to go. I tried img.fileCreatedDate, but not enough resolution. Any other good ideas would be appreciated.

I would be willing to re-work and not use Javascript if there is an good answer.

Thanks,
    Mark
  3. No Profile Picture
    Moderator =(8^(|)
    Devshed Intermediate (1500 - 1999 posts)

I get the impression that you're generating the image with a script? If you can get the script to return a Last Modified header:

Last-Modified: Thu, 31 Oct 2002 23:36:27 GMT

that indicates when the image last changed, the browser won't download the image unless it's been updated. If you do this, though, you can't pass the current time through the url, since the browser will assume it's a different resource you're trying to access.
    -james
  5. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)