1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

JQuery newby needs help getting jQuery carousel / slider working.

Hi guys.

I'm trying to implement a particular jQuery carousel / slider into my web page but it's not working.

According to the below two lines I'm assuming I need to install these two jQuery files on my server which I do not have and can't find :

<script type="text/javascript" src="jquery-1.7.2.min.js"></script>
    <script type="text/javascript" src="wb.carousel.min.js"></script>

So far I've gotten the thing on my page where I want and I've gotten the first image to appear in the carousel but nothing happens (I'm assuming because I'm missing the actual jQuery files).

Any ideas on how to get this carousel working?

If I can't get that particular slider working, I also like this one :
    http://www.zurb.com/playground/jquery_image_slider_plugin

I'm new to jQuery so I'm not exactly sure how to get the carousel working, although I have gotten a menu bar to work.

Thanks for the help guys.
  3. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by Winterfell
    According to the below two lines I'm assuming I need to install these two jQuery files on my server which I do not have and can't find...
    When adding JavaScript resources to an HTML page, there are two general paths we can follow:

The first is to type the JavaScript code directly into the HTML file, wrapped in <script></script> tags.

The second is to link to an external (i.e. not in the HTML) file that contains the code necessary to perform certain functions.

What you have is an example of path 2. Your slider depends on certain functions that define it's operation. Those functions are stored in an external JavaScript file that the slider will attempt to read from.

What's more, several of those slider functions also depend on functions defined in the JQuery library, in this case version 1.7.2, that the slider will also try to read from.

Code: