1. 300lb Bench!
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

Problems passing an array in my node application

Hey guys. I'm creating an app in node that initially grabs data from my database and attempts to display it to the user when they first come to the page. It's a chat application that I'm creating to replace the one on my site now, which does polling.

I'm new to node and was making good progress until a ran into a little bit of a brick wall, over something that seems like it should be easy. So here's the code that's stumping me.

Code:
    //client code
        some_event_name: function(data) {
          var msg = '';
          for (i = 0; i < data.length; i++) {
            msg = $('<div class="msg"></div>')
              .append('<span class="name">' + data[i]['user'] + '</span>: ')
              .append('<span class="text">' + data[i]['message'] + '</span>');
              $('#messages')
                .append(msg);
            msg = '';
          }
        },

//server code that runs when the person first comes to the page
      connection.query('select user, message, submission_datetime from my_table order by submission_datetime desc limit 5', function(err, rows, fields) {
        if (err) throw err;
        user_info = new Array();
        for (i = 0; i < rows.length; i++) {
          user_info[i] = new Array();
          user_info[i]['user'] = rows[i].user;
          user_info[i]['message'] = rows[i].message;
          user_info[i]['submission_datetime'] = rows[i].submission_datetime;
        }
        io.sockets.emit('some_event_name', user_info);