1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Radio Button Validation

Hello,
    I'm just trying to validate that a radio button is checked. I know this is quite basic but I'm not able to get what I'm looking for. For some reason my code only works when the 1st option is checked but when the 2nd option is checked it behaves as if none of them was marked.
    I'm pretty new to JavaScript so I can't find out what's wrong in my code.
    Thank you for your help.

My code is:
    Code:
    <html><head>

<script language="javascript">

function validacionArea2() {

var surgical = document.getElementsByName("surgical");
    	var surgicalcheck = false;

for(var i=0; i<surgical.length; i++) {    
    		if(surgical[i].checked) {
    			surgicalcheck = true;
    			alert('hay alguno seleccionado')
    			break;
    		} else {
    			alert('no hay ninguno seleccionado')
    			break;
    		}
    	}

}

</script>

<title>Freelancer</title>

</head>

<body>

<div class="label3">Surgical procedures?</div>
    				<input type="radio" class="bigradio" name="surgical" value="a"><label>a</label>	
    				<input type="radio" class="bigradio" name="surgical" value="b"><label>b</label>
    				<input type="button" onclick="validacionArea2()"

</body>
    </html>
  3. --
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

Hi,

the logic is wrong.

You immediately complain about no options being checked when you find an unchecked one. But you need to wait until the loop is over. Only then do you know whether no option is checked.

In cases like this, it's usually a good idea to leave aside the JavaScript stuff and write down the basic logic as pseudo code:

Code:
    // We first assume that no option has been checked and
    // then wait for the loop to prove otherwise.
    checked_option_exists := false

each option in options:
    	if option.checked:
    		print "You have checked this option"
    		checked_option_exists := true
    		break

if not checked_option_exists: