1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Text box pop up - Just learning JS

I want to create a popup box containing text from a link. The idea is, I will have a page with several links, and when someone clicks on a link, it will bring a box up with a block of text. Sometimes, this may need to scroll.

I don't want it to pop up in a new window. Instead, I want it to come up on the same page "on top" of the other content, and dim the page behind it. I have seen this before, but don't recall where. I have also seen sites do it with images of products., but also can't think of examples.

My question is, what is this called? I would also like some suggestions on going about this since I am just starting to learn javascript.
  3. A Not To Shabby Code Smurf
    Devshed Beginner (1000 - 1499 posts)

5. No Profile Picture

See, I didn't know that was called a lightbox. No need to be snarky. I did say I was just learning, right? I don't want to be "spoon fed" answers, I want to be pointed in the right direction to learn on my own. It helps to know the terminology, which is why I asked.
  7. CSS & JS/DOM Adept
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

If you choose to use jQuery (it's a certain amount of overhead), I recommend these lightbox plugins:

ColorBox
    http://www.jacklmoore.com/colorbox

jQuery Tools Overlay
    http://jquerytools.org/demos/overlay/
    http://jquerytools.org/documentation/overlay/
    https://github.com/jquerytools/jquerytools

Facebox
    http://jdmweb.com/resources/FaceBox
    https://github.com/defunkt/facebox

Yes, web_loone08 that does seem unnecessarily snarky when he clearly asked what the term for it is.
    Spreading knowledge, one newbie at a time.

Check out my blog. | Learn CSS. | PHP includes | X/HTML Validator | CSS validator | Common CSS Mistakes | Common JS Mistakes

Remember people spend most of their time on other people's sites (so don't violate web design conventions).
  9. No Profile Picture