1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Variable width stroke? paper.js

Hi, I'm relatively new to Javascript and programming. I'm using a vector drawing library called Paper.js and I'm a little unclear on what aspects of this question might be specific to that library.

But using the library I'm able to create a Path object on an html5 canvas. And I can give the stroke of that path a color and a width.

Does anyone know if there is a way, using this library, to give a path a variable width stroke? So it starts out with one width and either widens or tapers?

If not, does anyone know how to do this with a different library? Such as Rapheal.js or Processing.js?

And I apologize for not knowing this, but while the Path object, I think, is specific to Paper.js, it must be using some more generic object that is part of the core Javascript language. If I was using the core language to draw vector graphics to the screen, would there be an easy way to give a path a variable width stroke?

The only way that I can think of doing it is to basically create my own Path-Prime object that is an array of Path objects. Basically recreate the Path class using Path objects as the building block. Since each Path has its own strokeWidth I should be able to manuall approximate a variable width stroke along the Path-Prime. But that's going to be messy... I'd love to find a cleaner solution.

Thanks for any help.
  3. A Not To Shabby Code Smurf
    Devshed Beginner (1000 - 1499 posts)

5. No Profile Picture

Hey, I appreciate the reply; though I think I must not have been clear in
    the way I phrased my question.

I know how to set the strokeWidth for a path. But what I'm trying to do
    is make the strokeWidth vary along the path. So, instead of a stroke having
    a width of X, I'd like to have it start at X and taper (or widen) to Y. Not
    as an animation, mind you, but as a static characteristic.

To exemplify,
    Here is what I know how to do...
    Code: