1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Webmail - javascript:document.forms[0].submit()

G'day y'all.

I'm new to PHP and I'm working through the article on Building a PHP-Based Mail Client.

Great article, but when I run the compose message script and press the "send" icon I get an error saying that there's no recipient entered when in fact I have entered that information.

In looking at the code I note that it's not using a form with a Submit button and then testing for a $Submit variable to see whether the data needs to be parsed and processed.

Instead, it's going to whatever is referenced by the anchor point defined with the send icon, that being "javascript:document.forms[0].submit() "

The problem seems to me as if the $to variable in the script isn't being passed to the send script from the compose script, but this seems to me from this code snippet that this function is being handled by the javascript code mentioned above.

I can't see any references in the article to the javascript, and I've not seen this sort of language usage before. I cannot see any references to this sort of usage in the PHP docs either.

I would greatly appreciate it if someone could explain to me this usage, and how it works, and also where I could find some documentation on this.

Thanx in advance for any and all help.
  3. Newbie :P
    Devshed Frequenter (2500 - 2999 posts)

Hi,

Could you post the link to this article, it's often easier to look at the code to identify and explain something than based on an explanation, well thats what I find anyway
    ---------------------
    -- SilkySmooth --
    ---------------------
    Proxy
  5. No Profile Picture

No worries.

The article is at http://www.devshed.com/Server_Side/P...il1/page1.html

You'll need to download the source code for the article, as there's no mention of the javascript (that I can find) within the article itself. One of the javascript references occurs on line 39 of compose.php.