1. No Profile Picture
    Demonic Swordsman DGQB
    Devshed Beginner (1000 - 1499 posts)

question: javascript/regular expression/reading and writing files

I am writing a parsing script, which can be done in any language, & I chose javascript b/c I have some basic experience. If some other language, such as Perl, can do this better, please let me know. In a nutshell, I have a text file with phrases to parse out, which are surrounded by delimiters. There is one problem:

1. the text file contains key characters such as " and \

Can I assign a variable to this file, even though it contains reserved characters? If this poses a problem, I was thinking about writing a function to go through the text file, and when it catches a reserved character, [namely " and \] then it adds escape characters to it. So if it finds j = "5", it will change it into j = \"5\". So something like:

Code:
    function addEscapeChars
    {
       //pseudo code
       //goes through the entire text file

if a character == "\""
       {
           add escape character "\" in front;
       }
       if a character == "\"
       {
           add escape characters "\\" in front;
       }

}
    I have written some more pseudo code . Please help with the actual code.

Code:
    var pattern = [some regular expression]  //needs actual code
    var file = [statement to assign this variable to a file, or something like this] //needs actual code
    parsedTxt = pattern.exec(file); //runs the pattern against the original file
    document.write(parsedTxt); //prints the parsed text
    Last edited by vb.net; June 2nd, 2003 at 04:43 PM.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)