1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Form validation Issue - Empty field & field length

Hi
    I am trying to carry out some form validation using javascript, I am very new to this and I am unable to get it to work.
    The form is for users to record their bank details, the javascript will check for empty fields but for the account number and sortcode it will also check to ensure they are of the accepted length. So for example it will check the field for account number to see if it is empty OR if is is not equal to 8.
    My logic seems correct but it will not prevent the form from being submitted if the account number is 7 digits.
    I would really appreciate it if anyone is able to spot where the issue is and help me to correct it.
    I have tried to put the code in tags but it comes out very messy so apologies in advance for that.

<html>
    <head>
    <title>Bank Details Form</title>
    <link rel="stylesheet" type ="text/css" href ="style.css">

<script>

function validateForm(){

var errorMessage ="";

if(document.getElementById("bName").value===""){
    errorMessage+=("Please enter the name of your bank \n");
    document.getElementById("bName").style.bordercolor ="red";

}

if(document.getElementById("acName").value===""){
    errorMessage+=("Please enter your account name \n");
    document.getElementById("acName").style.bordercolor ="red";

}

if((document.getElementById("scode").value==="")||(document.getElementById("scode").value!="6"){
    errorMessage +=("Please enter a valid bank sortcode \n");
    document.getElementById("scode").style.bordercolor ="red";

}

if((document.getElementById("acNum").value==="")||(document.getElementById("acNum").value!="8"){
    errorMessage+=("Please enter a valid account number \n");
    document.getElementById("acNum").style.bordercolor ="red";

}

if(document.getElementById("bal").value===""){
    errorMessage +=("Please enter your balance \n");