Hello folks, I am new to the whole Java thing and the whole LDAP thing, so go easy on me. Basically what I am trying to do is connect to some LDAP server, pass in a paramater such as a user_id and search LDAP for the user_id and if a match is found, return certain fields/attributes for that person. I would then like to store these details as strings or ints or other datatypes to be used in a java bean using setter methods.

At present I am unable to actually work out or understand how to extract certain attributes and their values and convert them from Attribute or Object type to String or Integer types. I would appreciate any help with this.

Code:
// This method does a basic search on the subtree for any entry that has the uid=username attribute
	public NamingEnumeration doSearch(String url, int port, String attribute, String user_id, String search_string) throws Exception{
		DirContext ctx = getDirContext(url, port);
		Attributes matchAttrs = new BasicAttributes(true); // ignore attribute name case
		matchAttrs.put(new BasicAttribute(attribute, user_id));

// Search for objects with those matching attributes
		NamingEnumeration answer = ctx.search(search_string, matchAttrs);
		ctx.close();
		return answer;
	} //close doSearch
I can connect to the LDAP ok, can retrieve a list of the users attributes and print them on screen, what I am having problems with is isolating each attribute and actually assigning the value of each attribute such as: uid, givenName, cn, sn, userpassword, mail etc etc and assigning them to a java bean.

Code:
public userBean return_results(NamingEnumeration enumber) throws Exception {
		userBean user = new userBean();

int count = 0;
		String name = "";
		String[] attrIDs = {"uid", "cn", "userpassword", "givenName", "sn", "mail"};
		try {
		    while (enumber.hasMore()) {
				SearchResult sr = (SearchResult) enumber.next();
				Attributes attrs = sr.getAttributes();
                                user.setUser_id(uid);