1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Apache configuration

Hi guys, I am a Linux newbie, and I have 4 questions ..
    Which of you guru's can help me?

Information:
    I run Linux Mandrake 8.1 and I have installed ALL modules etc.
    The complete install!

Problem: #1
    I want to have complete acces over my files from a Windows computer in my LAN.
    I have Webmin, and Samba, but I can't get it to work ...

Problem: #2
    I run apache because I am testing my beta website.
    It's using alot of PHP and MySQL, and there is one thing I can't manage to fix.
    Uploading a file. I don't have the permission to do that.
    I know the script is good .. used it before on my windowsPC...

I get this message:
    PHP Code:
    WarningUnable to create '../swf-files/dieptes.swf'Permission denied in /var/www/html/php-files/processuploads.php on line 40 
    Problem: #3
    I have always used phpMyAdmin to manage my databases .
    I can't get this program to work anymore ... Do I need to installer something adittional ???
    help.......

Problem: #4
    I use Webmin to manage most configs.
    When I want to edit or set the SENDMAIL ... it gives the error sendmail.cf cannot be found .. I can't find anything about this topic .. What do I need to do?

Thanks in advance ya'll
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed God 1st Plane (5500 - 5999 posts)

Hi! Welcome to the Linux community

as usual, i first suggest you buy a book and / or linux magazines. how long did it take you to learn windows and how many people could you ask at this time?

Problem: #1
    Webmin is a afaik total security fīup. If you want to connect to the internet, deinstall it!