Thread: Faxing HTML

1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

Faxing HTML

Hello, I am trying to fax some HTML. I will be using PHP to access the command prompt. I think I am close, but I am very new with Linux, and am hoping someone can help me put the following two together. Thanks

Hylafax allows one to send a fax from the command line.
    Code:
    sendfax -n -m -f "John Doe" -d "555-555-1212" somefile.ps;
    htmldoc converts a html document to postscript document. I figured out how to save a HTML document as a PS document and could probably make this work, but I would rather not have to. Supposedly, there is something called a "filter" which will do it on the fly.
    Code:
    echo "<html><body><h1>Heading</h1><p>Some HTML output...</p></body></html>" | 
    htmldoc --format ps3 --bodyfont Helvetica --header ... --footer ... --webpage - | lpr
  3. Jealous Moderator
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Two options:
    a) Have htmldoc output, not save to a file, then pipe it (with a |) into sendfax. Only works if htmldoc can write to stdout and sendfax can read from stdin.
    b) Have htmldoc save to a random temporary file, then have sendfax read from it. (Then delete the file.)
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Thank you requinix,

Really didn't want to save the file, have sendfax read it, then delete it unless I absolutely had to.

It appears (given my limited Linux expertise) that htmldoc can write to stdout and sendfax can read from stdin.

Pipe it with a |? Maybe in California, but I do not know if that is legal in Washington.

Forgive me I will learn in time, but would you be willing to give me the command assuming that one could write to stdout and the other could read from stdin?

Thank you, Michael
  7. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Well, this turned out to be easy! I love this Linux thing!
    Code: