1. Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

What Flavor of Linux for which Hardware

Hello everyone,

Currently we are a Sun/Sparc 64 bit running Solaris 10 and the databases are MySQL 5.0 SO my question/problem is we are making the move away from that to x86_64 HP or Dell Blades, and will be running a flavor of Linux. Most likely it will be Red Hat 6, but we are also looking at Oracle Linux as well too. Also we will be upgrading our MySql 5.0 to 5.1 and then to 5.5 as well too.

So my real need is to hear from others which Flavor of Linux would be best for us and why? Also depending on which flavor of Linux, which Hardware should we consider more HP or Dell and why? Also as to storage, who would work best with the Flavor of Linux and Hardware combination?

I would like to hear collective advice on this please. I am by trade a Systems DBA and work closely with our Sys Admins/Network techs, but they are resistance to change from Sun/Solaris and management has said we are going to Linux and some other Hardware and etc. So I am looking for some advice here to best guide us down the correct best path to choose the best for our company.

Also I should point out that it is our intent to use VMs as well too, so that needs to also be considered too.

Thanks in Advance...
  3. Contributing User

As a note, from my own research it would seem the main Flavors of Linux to look at are x86_64 Red Hat 6, SUSE, and Oracle Linux... with using HP Blades. I realize there are many considerations here but I would like to here from more informed Linux Sys Admins. I am new here at this company and I come from the Unix/Linux world and Red Hat Linux of HP Blades with using NetApp storage was what I know last. Now granted that was primarily a Oracle shop with some MySQL dbs, PostgreSQL and even SQL Server 2005 on Windows too. We also did VMs as well for our DEV/test environments too, it is our plan here to also do the same as well too.