1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Unhappy Redhat NIC problem

hiya

I have a Redhat box with Samba that controlls a network with about 5 other windows servers and about 80 win 98/95 workstations (lovely!!!!).

We've been having problems with the network crashing every 3 days and now think the problem is being caused buy a problem with a Intel eepro100 Nic. It keeps throwing errors saying errors saying card has no resources. When i checked on ifconfig it said over 104,000 errors and 730 overruns (this was over 1200 4 mins later!!!) I've checked the Redhat site and found mention of other users haveing the same problem with the same Nic. Seems that the driver needs patching. Unfortunately the patch is only available if I upgrade the kernel and thats a step my boss doesn't want to rush into.

The solution suggested was to back up the driver (eepro100.o) and copy another driver (e100.o) over it, remove the module reinstall it, stop then restart the card. I tried this and the driver threw loads of errors and wouldn't install with insmod. I tried putting the other driver back but that did the same thing! A restart sorted the system out, well back to the state it was before and now i'm stuck.

SO.... two questions

1. Is there a fix for this driver/Nic problem that works?

2. If I update the kernal to the latest Redhat version is this likely to cause many problems? For example could my version of samba not be supported under the new kernel?

This is a big problem because everyone connects to everything, internet included via this machine. If I (a lowly placement student with minimal linux experience) f*ck it up my boss is gonna kill me and everyone in our office wont be able to do anything.

Can anyone help?

Thanks
    Mitchell
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed God 1st Plane (5500 - 5999 posts)

to prevent you from being killed: make a backup before you change anything