1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Seeking some advice on a new project

Hello all, hope this message finds you well.

I am new to programming and I have begun planning a new project. The project is simply this, I will send diagnostic info from a Linux machine to a server. The server will then display the data in a webpage. I have many Linux machines that will transmit the data on a daily basis; therefore, I am wanting to create a one stop shop so to speak so I can simply go to the specific URL and see the same data I would otherwise have to go into each individual machine.

The problem that I am running into is trying to figure out the best way to get the data to the server and in what format i.e. txt, csv, or a TCP/UDP datagram.

I am not asking anyone to solve this problem for me because I do not believe I will learn that way. I am simply asking if someone would be willing to steer me in the right direction and allow me to pick their brain for a bit. I would greatly appreciate any feedback.

I also posted my question in the HTML forum. I am sorry for the redundancy, however I was not sure which forum to post in.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

There are utilities for this sort of thing, but if you want a DIY experience to force yourself to learn a few tricks, I would recommend focusing on skills that are useful in as many settings as possible.

If I were to design something like this I'd ask a few questions first:
    • What sort of data do we need to see?
    • What sort of data do we want to see?
    • What is the smallest feature set which, when completed, defines project success?
    • Does the data need to be retrieved when the page is looked at, or can it be cached and updated on a schedule?
    • Does the data need to be historical, or is the current/latest update all we care about?
    • Why are we using the web? Might we ever want to use another interface? (i.e. Android application)