1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

How to setup mysql to use another hard drive?

Ok first Im completely new to linux. I know lol sorry..

My questions is, I am running a large database website under linux. I have 5 hard drives, but hard disk 1 is where linux is installed and apache is installed + all other server files. What I am trying to do is, is there anyway that I could make mysql use hard disk 2? here is an example:

Say I have my site on hdd1 and I want to tell my site to use hdd2 to store and retrieve all database files from hdd2 so that way hdd1 wont get filled up and run out of space.

Is there a way to do this? this is will be so helpful if anyone can help. Thank you.
  3. Did you steal it?
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

All the databases or just one in particular?

Either way it's the same:
    1. Stop mysqld
    2a. ls the datadir (eg, /var/lib/mysql or /var/lib/mysql/database) and remember that
    2b. Backup whatever you're dealing with, just for kicks
    3. Move the datadir files to the new hard drive
    4a. (Re)mount the drive at that directory
    4b. ls the datadir and see that it looks like it did before
    5. Start mysqld and make sure stuff doesn't catch on fire
  5. No Profile Picture

one last question.

Is there any guide to help me mount different hard drives for different purposes under linux?

For example. Lets say I want to mount hdd2 to something like /system/uploads/ so from hdd1 (where my site is)I can edit the config file and point it to upload all the system files to /system/uploads which is in the 2nd drive hdd2. Say for example I have 3 hdds so the 1st hdd is where my linux is installed the other 2 sits there empty. So i want hdd1 to access hdd2 and hdd3 to store/retrieve files, like hdd1 wants to store a file into hdd2. hope its not confusing.
  7. Did you steal it?

Depending on your Linux there are different ways to mount drives to folders. Editing /etc/fstab directly is probably an option.