1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Ubuntu 11.10 / 10.04

I am new to Linux and not all *that* technically savvy so bear with me.

Perhaps cutting to the chase - should Ubuntu 11.10 run well on an HP Pavillion 515n with the following specifications taken from the 'system info':

Intel Celeron CPU 230 GHZ
    Graphics : Unknown (?)
    OS Type: 32 bit
    Disk: 78.3GB

Initially I installed Ubuntu 11.10 on this machine alongside Windows XP Home Edition, which was having performance issues of its own. After completing the Ubuntu installation I found the system to be "sluggish" (which I appreciate is a subjective term but, for example, windows were taking 10 - 20 seconds to open, applications much longer).

I then did a complete install of Ubuntu 10.04, (intentionally) removing 11.10 and Windows in the process. That resulted in a much livelier and responsive system, but the Tenda Wireless USB adapter was not being recognized/working/what have you. I searched around the web and tried some of the suggestions without success.

So, thinking perhaps the initial 11.10 installation was suffering due to its having been installed alongside XP, I went ahead and reinstalled that over 10.04. This immediately recognizes the USB adapter and allows me to connect to the internet, but I am still experiencing the same lack of response/sluggishness. I also installed, or think I installed, the Nvidia 275.09.07 Driver per the instructions posted here: http://mygeekopinions.blogspot.com/2...driver-in.html .

Before I go back and reinstall 10.04 over everything and invest in a new Wireless USB I was wondering about the feasibility of running 11.10 on this system, and if there were any suggestions for doing so, efficiently.

I have seen various posts on the net describing both sluggish and wonderful experiences. I would like to get myself into that latter camp.

Thanks in advance for any and all suggestions.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Lost in code