1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Plug and Play Linux

I'm a newbie that just installed Redhat Linux 6.1 onto a Toshiba Laptop I had sitting around.

Skip this paragraph if you don't want to hear about how exciting it was to install. I start with computers back in the early 80's and watching the text install run and seeing the Ansi colors for the first time in over ten years brought back the butterflys to my stomach when I would boot up a BBS for the first time.

Now I have it installed, I can see the screen and I'm bumbling through just playing right now, excited to have thrown off the chain's of Billy Bob's opression ALA 1984. (Ok, melodramatic, but close to the truth).

I installed both gnome and then reinstalled with KDE. So far I like KDE better. How can I change my screen resolution? How do I get to command line? Does this thing have plug and play?

I wish I had more time to read the nooks and crannies of this thing, but it's a side project I've wanted to do for a long time and am squeezing it in during coffee breaks and sleepless nights, so pointers in the right direction would be greatly appreciated!

~Matt
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed God 1st Plane (5500 - 5999 posts)

screen resolution: XFSetup (probably redhat comes with its own, more comfortable tool, but i donŽt know it )

console: between ctrl-alt-f1 and ctrl-alt-f10 you should find several consoles to work with. One of them is your X-Windows, so this is also the way to return.

some cool linux stuff: you can run any program that runs on a console also inside an xterm. (look for "Terminal" or "Shell" in the KDE menu - if i remember correctly, kde has a shell symbol in the quick-start bar on the bottom.)
    yes, windows can run a dos window too, but when i said any program, i mean any program, not just most programs!

some more cool console stuff? since you asked (???):
    "program </dev/tty1 >/dev/tty1 2>/dev/tty1 &"