1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Able to send but unable to receive emails

Hi all,

I am a beginner and very recently I have started looking in to technical stuffs. I have installed webmin on my Cent OS and have configured pretty much everything from there. However I am not able to trouble shoot my email problem.

I have configured Postfix through my webmin and I am able to send outgoing emails. But I am not able to receive any emails on that address. I have added Mail Server Records in Bind DNS Zone but nothing seems to work.

I can see mx records for my domain only with www but not without www. Also I got the following headsup from pingability,

This mail server on IP (xx.xx.xx.xx) has no reverse DNS (PTR) record. Some email servers require a PTR record from any server that connects to them and reject any email from a mail server without a PTR record.

I am not sure how to fix this issue? Please help me in resolving this issue.
  3. They're coming to take me away

Originally Posted by fuel4mind
    I can see mx records for my domain only with www but not without www. Also I got the following headsup from pingability,
    What exactly does your zone file look like? What are the MX records you have listed?

This mail server on IP (xx.xx.xx.xx) has no reverse DNS (PTR) record. Some email servers require a PTR record from any server that connects to them and reject any email from a mail server without a PTR record.
    You can contact your ISP to set up rDNS. A PTR should not necessarily prevent emails from being received.

Have you added the domain(s) to receive email from to your server? There is a section within Webmin to allow you to do this.

Can you send email within the domain? (user1@domain.com --> user2@domain.com)?

Have you checked your log files yet?
    "I don't need to get a life. I'm a gamer. I have lots of lives!"
  5. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)