|
|
|||||||||
|
|||||||||
| |||||||||
|
|
|
| |||||||||
![]() |
|
|
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
#1
|
|||
|
|||
|
HI
I have a dedicated server thru hostdime.com and as wonderful "cant' live without them" service they provide, it seems that all, and I mean all i.p. addressed under their umbrella, including my 5, are on the mail-abuse.com maps rbl blacklist. I believe they're trying their best to get em' off but it's been months and I have complaints from clients on a regular basis that they can't receive or send email to and from certain clients. frustrating. I cannot believe that when spam comes from ONE ip address, they ban 5,000 or more ips. Is there a solution? My thought is to find a dedicated server somewhere where this won't happen but I'm not sure this is possible. Any thoughts? anyone else in the codendrum and finding solutions? |
|
#2
|
|||
|
|||
|
incidentally, the ip range that is currently on the list that's mine is 66.195.19.[200-204]
|
|
#3
|
||||
|
||||
|
You could ask them for IPs on a different IP block? Or, perhaps, you could buy another server just for mail and colocate it with a different company? It's doubtful they'll be able to remove those IPs from the blacklists. And, anyway, the IPs will probably end up right back on it.
My personal mail goes out through my Verizon DSL connection, which is blacklisted. I just forward it through a server I have colocated, no problems, but I was pretty pissed when I moved here, had it hooked up, and found out I couldn't send email to my mother! Colin
__________________
Colin Wetherbee |
|
#4
|
|||
|
|||
|
Now that's an idea I have been toying with which is to have my email in a different place than my servers. What's the easiest way to accomplish this do you think?
Quote:
|
|
#5
|
||||
|
||||
|
Best bet...Bite the bullet and goto another ISP.
{Preferably one that is bigger and badder so that they can fend off random Blacklisting} Blacklisting of you current ISP will probably never get resolved. The latest trend seems to be to 'Ban first, ask if it was correct later' Sorry...
__________________
Curious by Nature, Linux by Choice |
|
#6
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
Oh, my isp isn't blacklisted ... though I have verizon as well and I thought I read that your verizon was... my didicated server ip's are blacklisted, and hwere I have my ded server, all their ips are blacklisted due to the activity of 3-4 people. I cannot figure out for the life of me how an organization can get away with blakclisting whole blocks of ip addresses when only one of them might be responsible. |
|
#7
|
|||
|
|||
|
one more thing
one thing that keeps me from jumping ship and getting a server elsewhere is that I[m afraid they'll also get blakclisted sometime in the future. I hate to give up the awesome service of my current and go to anohter and 2 mos. down the road they're on the list too. They also tell me that they can't give me an ip outside of the spam list as they're tied to what they're network provides them (att, etc.)
|
|
#8
|
|||||
|
|||||
|
Quote:
Yes, I was getting blacklisted on Dynamic IP range, but have moved to Static Verizon Bus DSL. I still have SORBS b'listing the static IP block and am fighting with them, but I can get to AoHell and other non-small-isp friendly providers Quote:
Now That Sux...have you checked SpamHaus, SORBs and other blacklisting sites? R U banned in all? Quote:
They are blocking whole octets as a pre-emptive strike. My personal opinion is that what started out as a great idea, and was taken up by a large group of Admin's to help fight spam, is now become the wall around the city, and they won't let the little guy in anymore. If this continues, in about a year they will have only 1 IP that will allow mail to go across the internet. If you find a sympathetic ear at verizon, let me know so that I can cry on their shoulder also... Frog |
|
#9
|
|||
|
|||
|
yes I know what lists im on
Yes
I am on mail-abuse.org maps rbl list which many isp's subscribe to. |
|
#10
|
|||
|
|||
|
more detail
Julia
My problem is this: 1. I have a dedicated managed server thru hostdime.com and my ip is 66.195.19.200 my nameservers are ns1 and ns2.centralmaineweb.com ip same as above except 201 and 202 respectively. My problem is that clients of a certain isp called prexar.com cannot "resolve" my server. ie they cannot see any websites hosted on my server (nor can they see any websites on any hostdime server or website) nor can they send email to or receive it from any email address on my server. needless to say this has been a hassle as neither the isp nor hostdime.com can solve the problem. Both sides say it's the other side with equally convincing arguments. The latest "thought" is that it's somehting network side. |
|
#11
|
||||
|
||||
|
I think this is cross posted,
but if you are having only 1 sub-domain that isn't accessible by some users, it is possible that is has been 'blackholed' by the users ISP. |
|
#12
|
|||
|
|||
|
Dunno if this will help,
Couldnt send a mail to a client of mine because I had blacklisted them manually. After a search of all my lists I sent a question to my webspace provider and this is the answer I got: Hi Chris, concepts.nl hosts notorious spammers and they allow clients to spam from their servers. Three clients from us where bombarded with email coming from a concepts server. If you need to mail them please use your provider email(smtp) server. Luckily I could send an email via my connection provider and am only now becomming aware of this trend. Needless to say I advised my client to change servers immediatly. Just when you think things are ticking along nicely you get a 'kink in the cabel'. |
|
#13
|
|||
|
|||
|
solved
Hi
I got the problem solved. NONE of my domians were visible or emailabel by the isp. The isp HAD subscribed to a blacklist offered by mail-abuse.org and this list was installed on their router vs. the usual location (iptables???) The head tech swore up and down arrogantly that they don't use or subscribe to such lists. isp techs seem to have the same context as doctors and lawyers. The complete inability to admit any mistake or apologize. Almost like it's inbred somehow. But I am grateful as they have whitelisted my ip's and they are now accessible! |
|
#14
|
|||
|
|||
|
Related to all that..
I have a domain hosting service which has been very good; solid and cheap. I have a POP with them, with some filetring capability, but not enough. There's not provision for stripping attachments nor for deleting/refusing anything over a set size. So I went looking and came across www.cleanmail.com, but they're pretty pricey; $100 setup and $10/mo. Is there a similar service at a more attractive price? TIA DC4 |
![]() |
| Viewing: Dev Shed Forums > System Administration > Mail Server Help > blacklisted ip's |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|