Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

How to build your own email server

Hello! I was hopeful that someone can help me get starting in builing an email server.

I use 3rd party software to email my staff and because the software is old, I need an email server that doesn't require SMTP authentication. My current source for this will be migrating to a server that requires authentication and I can't find another source, even though I've spent lots of time looking.

Rather then upgrade my 3rd party software at a cost of 7 or 8 thousand dollars, I might be better off hosting my own email. Can anyone point me in the right direction on how to do this.

I'm no expert, by any means, but I've done all the IT stuff at my company, including building windows computers and the network they're on. So, anything in plain english would be very appreciated. Thanks very much!
  3. They're coming to take me away

Welcome to Dev Shed.

First thing you need to decide is what OS you want to use for an email server. All the advice I give is based on linux, as I would recommend linux over other OS's.

After selecting an OS, you would then select a mail server. With linux, the 3 main ones are Sendmail (my choice), Qmail, and Postfix. (Not listed in any particular order)

Also you would want to decide whether or not you would be hosting your own domain and such. Are you just wanting an email server out of this? If not, what all do you want this server to be used for: FTP, SSH, Web, Email, etc.

Once you have selected an OS and a mail server, we can assist more with particulars dealing with that mail server.

You would need to have a DNS server point to your server, so you'd probably want to configure and run BIND as well.

Hope this gets you started... This is more a Mail Server question, so I'll ask a mod to move it over there.
  5. No Profile Picture