Mail Server Help
 
Forums: » Register « |  User CP |  Games |  Calendar |  Members |  FAQs |  Sitemap |  Support | 
User Name:
Password:
Remember me
Go Back   Dev Shed ForumsSystem AdministrationMail Server Help

Reply
Add This Thread To:
  Del.icio.us   Digg   Google   Spurl   Blink   Furl   Simpy   Y! MyWeb 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
 
Unread Dev Shed Forums Sponsor:
  #1  
Old October 13th, 2004, 08:21 AM
dba_frog's Avatar
dba_frog dba_frog is offline
cave painting, the 1st Opn Src
Dev Shed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 394 dba_frog User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 18 h 55 m 5 sec
Reputation Power: 6
fight spam on my server

Some jag off is starting to probe my server for exploitable email addresses. I'm not sure if this is for spamming or to probe for address to send spam::
Quote:
Hi. This is the qmail-send program at mail.xxxxxxxxxx.com.
I tried to deliver a bounce message to this address, but the bounce bounced!

<dennisweaver@recyclermail.com>:
Sorry, I couldn't find any host by that name. (#4.1.2)
I'm not going to try again; this message has been in the queue too long.

--- Below this line is the original bounce.

Return-Path: <>
Received: (qmail 5529 invoked for bounce); 4 Oct 2004 19:22:57 -0000
Date: 4 Oct 2004 19:22:57 -0000
From: badmail@mail.xxxxxxxxxxx.com
To: dennisweaver@recyclermail.com
Subject: failure notice

Hi. This is the qmail-send program at mail.xxxxxxxxxx.com.
I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following addresses.
This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't work out.

<webmaster@xxxxxxxxxxx.com>:
Sorry, no mailbox here by that name. vpopmail (#5.1.1)

--- Below this line is a copy of the message.

Return-Path: <dennisweaver@recyclermail.com>
Received: (qmail 5526 invoked by uid 508); 4 Oct 2004 19:22:55 -0000
Received: from unknown (HELO HOME) (80.232.252.14)
by mail.xxxxxxxxxxx.com with SMTP; 4 Oct 2004 19:22:55 -0000
Message-ID: <027094871039674820045.932fahnx3229969fdx@msn.com>
Received: from 14.68.20.72 by w29-vr7.ktjj744.msn.com with DAV;
Tue, 05 Oct 2004 18:01:32 +0400
Reply-To: "Theron Allison" <billyargile@dbzmail.com>
From: "Theron Allison" <walterp@asheville.com>
To: <webmaster@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.com>
Subject: Re: about your web site...
Date: Tue, 05 Oct 2004 11:01:32 -0300
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
boundary="--385775470365750896"

----385775470365750896
Content-Type: text/plain;
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable


How, or where do I rip this header apart to block the original sender?
the return path ::
Quote:
Return-Path: <dennisweaver@recyclermail.com>
? or do I need to dig deeper?

Then...Where can I place the IP info to block this guy from getting any requests to my server? My gut sez the deny.host file but I'm not sure.

Lastly, how can I automate this process and can I tag bad bounces to say ' GO AWAY ~ You no stay here, You been here 4 hour, you scare the other customers' { props to louie anderson for the greatest food buffet quote EVER !}

thanks...Frog
__________________
Curious by Nature,
Linux by Choice

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 14th, 2004, 07:30 AM
Donboy's Avatar
Donboy Donboy is offline
The Evil Monkey
Dev Shed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 220 Donboy User rank is Private First Class (20 - 50 Reputation Level)Donboy User rank is Private First Class (20 - 50 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 6 h 38 m 10 sec
Reputation Power: 6
You can use the /etc/tcp.smtp file to block ip addresses. His ip address appears to be 80.232.252.14. So you can edit your tcp.smtp file and add the following line...

80.232.252.:deny

Notice I left off the last octet of his ip address. This will block all 255 ips that may originate from his subnet.

Note the above line will reject him without a reason. If you want to give him a nastygram when he tries again, you can do it like this...

80.232.252.:allow,RBLSMTPD="-Go away *** munch!"

When you edit this file, you must run qmailctl cdb or you can run the following commands...

tcprules /etc/tcp.smtp.cdb /etc/tcp.smtp.tmp < /etc/tcp.smtp
chmod 644 tcp.smtp*

Frankly, I would just deny him without a reason, as most spammers don't bother to read the return messages anyhow. But if you want to be a good professional admin, you should try to give a reason just in case somebody else from his subnet gets blocked from sending you mail.

REF: http://cr.yp.to/ucspi-tcp/tcprules.html

Last edited by Donboy : October 14th, 2004 at 07:38 AM.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 14th, 2004, 08:04 AM
Donboy's Avatar
Donboy Donboy is offline
The Evil Monkey
Dev Shed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 220 Donboy User rank is Private First Class (20 - 50 Reputation Level)Donboy User rank is Private First Class (20 - 50 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 6 h 38 m 10 sec
Reputation Power: 6
Also, if you want to control spam really well, you should check out the fine details of rblsmtpd (if you're not using it already). I also recommend the qregex patch which is also discussed in the thread below.

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/showthread.php?s=&threadid=188474

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 14th, 2004, 08:06 AM
dba_frog's Avatar
dba_frog dba_frog is offline
cave painting, the 1st Opn Src
Dev Shed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 394 dba_frog User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 18 h 55 m 5 sec
Reputation Power: 6
TY for the info.

Look Out Spammers...Your days on MY server are Over...

Frog

Reply With Quote
Reply

Viewing: Dev Shed ForumsSystem AdministrationMail Server Help > fight spam on my server


Thread Tools  Search this Thread 
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes  Rate This Thread 
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
View Your Warnings | New Posts | Latest News | Latest Threads | Shoutbox
Forum Jump


Forums: » Register « |  User CP |  Games |  Calendar |  Members |  FAQs |  Sitemap |  Support | 
  
 





© 2003-2008 by Developer Shed. All rights reserved. DS Cluster 4 hosted by Hostway