The Shed is going Social! Join us on FaceBook and Twitter and chime in on the conversation.
|
 |
|
Dev Shed Forums
> System Administration
> Mail Server Help
|
Gmail blocks my messages - What can I do?
Discuss Gmail blocks my messages - What can I do? in the Mail Server Help forum on Dev Shed. Gmail blocks my messages - What can I do? Mail Server Help forum discussing tips, tricks, techniques and Spam containment solutions. Topics include mail servers such as Sendmail and Qmail, webmail interfaces such as Squirrelmail and Horde and spam solutions such as SpamAssassin and Bayesian
|
|
 |
|
|
|
|

Dev Shed Forums Sponsor:
|
|
|

June 17th, 2011, 12:18 PM
|
|
Contributing User
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 35
 
Time spent in forums: 4 h 45 m
Reputation Power: 4
|
|
|
Gmail blocks my messages - What can I do?
Every time someone from my server tries to send mail to Gmail - they reject it with the following message:
Code:
From: Mail Delivery Subsystem <MAILER-DAEMON@*.co.il>
Message-Id: <201106060753.p567rJJi005511@*.co.il>
To: <apache@*.co.il>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/report; report-type=delivery-status;
boundary="p567rJJi005511.1307346799/*.co.il"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
Subject: Returned mail: see transcript for details
Auto-Submitted: auto-generated (failure)
This is a MIME-encapsulated message
--p567rJJi005511.1307346799/*.co.il
The original message was received at Mon, 6 Jun 2011 10:53:17 +0300
from localhost [127.0.0.1]
----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----
<*@gmail.com>
(reason: 550-5.7.1 [212.199.167.172 7] Our system has detected that this message is)
----- Transcript of session follows -----
... while talking to gmail-smtp-in.l.google.com.:
>>> DATA
<<< 550-5.7.1 [212.199.167.172 7] Our system has detected that this message is
<<< 550-5.7.1 likely unsolicited mail. To reduce the amount of spam sent to Gmail,
<<< 550-5.7.1 this message has been blocked. Please visit
<<< 550-5.7.1 http://mail.google.com/support/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=188131 for
<<< 550 5.7.1 more information. p14si9093074wbh.117
554 5.0.0 Service unavailable
--p567rJJi005511.1307346799/*.co.il
Content-Type: message/delivery-status
My server certainly did not spam Gmail servers, also there was once a point in time where the mails were received but they all went into Spam automatically. I fear this has something to do with my "Postfix" configuration.
MXToolbox.com reports all green on my mail domains and reverse DNS.
I followed Gmail's instructions on preventing the spam, to no avail. I monitor the mail sending amount and I see now that mail barely gets sent out of the box. I fear we have been IP Banned permanently.
The server is hosted in a data center with a static IP, is it possible that a previous server with that IP spammed GMail and they blacklisted them?
Thanks for help!
|

June 17th, 2011, 04:00 PM
|
|
Contributing User
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 248
 
Time spent in forums: 3 Days 15 h 26 m 11 sec
Reputation Power: 3
|
|
Without knowing specifically why Google blocked you, it's just guessing. Could have been someone on that same IP sending spam like you said. Could be the reverse look up. Is your IP the 212.199.167.172? It has a reverse record but it looks generic. Some servers won't accept that. I'm not sure about Google though.
Code:
;; ANSWER SECTION:
172.167.199.212.in-addr.arpa. 74159 IN PTR 212.199.167.172.forward.012.net.il.
|

June 17th, 2011, 04:18 PM
|
|
Contributing User
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 35
 
Time spent in forums: 4 h 45 m
Reputation Power: 4
|
|
|
Yep, that's my server and that is the PTR. It is also the "SMTP Header" that I set up in the Postfix config, so that MXToolbox would return all green lights.
It's been a few weeks and Gmail isn't unblocking me. Is there anything I can do? Maybe give them a call?
|

June 17th, 2011, 04:40 PM
|
|
Contributing User
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 248
 
Time spent in forums: 3 Days 15 h 26 m 11 sec
Reputation Power: 3
|
|
|
Google is notorious for having little to no customer service. You can look around the internet but many people are in the same situation. I'm not sure what else past that you can do. Maybe it will unblock eventually. I doubt they have a manual black list, probably dynamic or will lower over time.
|

June 17th, 2011, 05:17 PM
|
|
Contributing User
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 35
 
Time spent in forums: 4 h 45 m
Reputation Power: 4
|
|
OK thanks for your help! 
|

June 17th, 2011, 06:20 PM
|
|
|
|
Did you check to see if your ip is on any blacklists? There are sites that will check your ip against most of the rbl lists. And you might look into creating a SPF record for your domain.
__________________
======
Doug G
======
It is a truism of American politics that no man who can win an election deserves to. --Trevanian, from the novel Shibumi
|

June 18th, 2011, 01:54 AM
|
|
Contributing User
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 35
 
Time spent in forums: 4 h 45 m
Reputation Power: 4
|
|
|
Hi Doug,
I checked and I'm not on any blacklists.
SPF record, what is that exactly and how do I go about creating it?
Thanks!
|

June 18th, 2011, 08:19 AM
|
|
Contributing User
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 248
 
Time spent in forums: 3 Days 15 h 26 m 11 sec
Reputation Power: 3
|
|
|
SPF stands for Sender Policy Framework. It is a DNS record. It's a statement written so a domain can specify the places their mail should be coming from. This is a way to prevent spammer from sending spam pretending to be from your domain.
An example SPF record: "v=spf1 a mx -all"
That example means you're using the SPF version 1 (that's the only version at the moment), valid mail can come from your A record and MX record. The "-all" means mail servers should deny incoming mail claiming to be from your domain if it doesn't come from the specified IP's. Check our openspf.org for more details.
Also note that most SPF statements are in the TXT record, but there is indeed an actual SPF record. I recommend both if you're going to do it. It just takes a few minutes and help protects your domains identity from being stolen by spammers.
|

June 18th, 2011, 03:28 PM
|
|
Contributing User
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 35
 
Time spent in forums: 4 h 45 m
Reputation Power: 4
|
|
OMG!!!!!!! THANKS SO MUCH CAPTPIKEL AND DOUG G!!! IT WORKS!!!!
As soon as I added the SPF records for the domains GMAIL NEVER REJECTS MY EMAILS !!!! I even tested it specifically! Domain with no SPF, rejected. Added SPF, and immediately e-mails were received by Gmail!
This is the TXT DNS I had to add:
Code:
v=spf1 a mx ip4:212.199.167.172 ~all
Yay!!!! 
Last edited by eladnava : June 18th, 2011 at 03:32 PM.
|

June 18th, 2011, 07:19 PM
|
|
|
|
I'm happy to hear you got your problem solved, and thanks to CaptPikel for the nice explanation.
|
Developer Shed Advertisers and Affiliates
| Thread Tools |
Search this Thread |
|
|
|
| Display Modes |
Rate This Thread |
Linear Mode
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
|