1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Smile Need a Mail Server.... Pls Guide

hi all there....

i am very new in this domain. I want to get Mail server for my company. We r about 10 users and want to take our own company mailserver. i dont have any domain or mailserver already in my company. how i have to get started. Pls guide step by step

thanks in advance
    mkhurram92
  3. Lord of the Dance
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

I will suggest that you find a reasonable mail hosting company instead of configuring your own mail server, especially if your knowledge about it is limited.

Some Mail hosting services also allow you to register a domain and have DNS service too.

If you want to have in-house server, you will have to find which mail server program you want to use, e.g. Microsoft Exchange.
    But you still need to create the domain and use an external DNS service.
  5. No Profile Picture

No i want to keep all the mail server and all mail backup within my company.
    pls guide how i can ????
  7. Lord of the Dance
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

If you use Windows, take a look at the Small Business Server (SBS).
  9. No Profile Picture
    Grumpier old Moderator
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

linux with ispconfig3 works.
    ======
    Doug G
    ======
    Bartender to Rene Descartes "have another beer?" Descartes: "I think not" and he vanished.
    --Alfred Bester
  11. Contributing User

If you want something that's fairly easyish to set up and will be familiar/compatible with Outlook, check out Zimbra on a Linux platform.