Mail Server Help
 
Forums: » Register « |  User CP |  Games |  Calendar |  Members |  FAQs |  Sitemap |  Support | 
User Name:
Password:
Remember me

The Shed is going Social! Join us on FaceBook and Twitter and chime in on the conversation.

Go Back   Dev Shed ForumsSystem AdministrationMail Server Help

Reply
Add This Thread To:
  Del.icio.us   Digg   Google   Spurl   Blink   Furl   Simpy   Y! MyWeb 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
 
Unread Dev Shed Forums Sponsor:
  #1  
Old July 20th, 2011, 01:35 PM
jjj0923 jjj0923 is offline
Registered User
Dev Shed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 19 jjj0923 User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 2 h 31 m 37 sec
Reputation Power: 0
Need some basic insight here...

OK - I have an exchange server behind our ISA Firewall and all of our IP addresses are natted.

On rare occasion one of our emails get blocked and I am trying to figure out why. I have a sneaky suspicion is due to a listing on spews (see below)

We have multiple domains such as internetseer.com, brandywine.com and a few more that we send out email from.

Our external ip is 98.114.187.3

on our dns servers and I have an A record setup for internetseer.com called : exchange.internetseer.com that resolves to 98.114.187.3

for minddrivers I also have an A record called exchange.minddrivers.com that point to 98.114.187.3

I also have reverse dns records setup for exchange.internetseer.com and exchange.minddrivers.com that resolve to 98.114.187.3

one thing I discovered that annoys me is this: http://www.apews.org/?page=test&C=1403&E=383528&ip=98.114.187.3 - I don't know if this is important or not.

The MX record for both internetseer.com and minddrivers.com point to mailcheck.internetseer.com which has an A record and also a reverse dns record and that points to 65.36.241.122 which is our Spamtitan box located in a data center where we colo a number of our servers. The spam titan box forwards clean email to an ip I have defined to only listen to 65.36.241.122 and the firewall forwards those smtp connections to our exchange server located behind the firewall.

I 'd really like to get de-listed from spews but I don't understand what they're really indicating in their message.

do any of you have any ideas?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 22nd, 2011, 05:05 PM
CaptPikel CaptPikel is offline
Contributing User
Dev Shed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 248 CaptPikel User rank is Lance Corporal (50 - 100 Reputation Level)CaptPikel User rank is Lance Corporal (50 - 100 Reputation Level)CaptPikel User rank is Lance Corporal (50 - 100 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 3 Days 15 h 26 m 11 sec
Reputation Power: 3
http://www.apews.org/?page=faq

Search the page for "A42" to look at the section on getting removed. My personal opinion: There are a lot of sites that offer free spam filtering. Most are pretty poor and unprofessional. Read through their FAQ's and you'll see. Just my 2 cents.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Viewing: Dev Shed ForumsSystem AdministrationMail Server Help > Need some basic insight here...

Developer Shed Advertisers and Affiliates



Thread Tools  Search this Thread 
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes  Rate This Thread 
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
View Your Warnings | New Posts | Latest News | Latest Threads | Shoutbox
Forum Jump

Forums: » Register « |  User CP |  Games |  Calendar |  Members |  FAQs |  Sitemap |  Support | 
  
 


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

© 2003-2013 by Developer Shed. All rights reserved. DS Cluster - Follow our Sitemap