1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Angry server IP blocked

I have a plesk server. I'm not a server admin...I'm a web developer that has a dedicated server for convenience for my clients. I paid a server admin to secure the server (because I just know the basics). My server has been running fine for a couple of years. Yesterday (after checking the mail log after a woocommerce email was not delivered), I noticed my server was just added to several blacklist. I don't see any spam being sent out in the mail log and everything on the php mail log looks legitimate. I also have outgoing mail limited to 50 per domain per hour in plesk and didn't see any domains that have exceeded that. I then went to senderscore.org and noticed there are several domains not on my server sending emails. What can I do to stop these domains from messing up my sender score and getting me blacklisted? I'm using postfix and my server has SMTP authorization enabled for relay. PLEASE HELP
  3. No Profile Picture

all this started yesterday. There is a HUGE on my instantaneous spike of mail being sent (starting yesterday). Look at this graph from senderscore.org . This is the error that was in the maillog:

delay=1.1, delays=0.24/0/0.72/0.17, dsn=4.7.0, status=deferred (host alt1.gmail-smtp-in.l.google.com[173.194.68.27] said: 421-4.7.0 .........4] Our system has detected an unusual rate of 421-4.7.0 unsolicited mail originating from your IP address. To protect our 421-4.7.0 users from spam, mail sent from your IP address has been temporarily 421-4.7.0 rate limited.
  5. Lazy Moderator
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Well, you have to find out where those emails are being sent from and how they're using the server to do it. Is the mail server compromised? Did someone get a login?
  7. No Profile Picture
    Grumpier old Moderator