|
|
|||||||||
|
|||||||||
| |||||||||
|
|
|
| |||||||||
![]() |
|
|
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
#1
|
|||
|
|||
|
Smart Host Problem
We currently can't send email to a certain domain, but they can send mail to use. When we try to email them it gets bounced back. I telneted directly to port 25 on their outside IP address, and was able to send a message to them. To test things out more Time Warner told us one of their email servers and to use it. First I set up an Outlook 2000 client to use Time Warner as its outgoing email IP. That worked. The next thing I tried was in Exchange System Manager under Servers -> SMTP -> Default SMTP Virtual Server, was to set up Time Warners Email server as a smarthost. That didn't help anything. The next thing I did was under Connectors I set up an SMTP connector and put Time Warners Email server as a Smart Host and on the addresses tab put in the domain of the place we can't email. That didn't work either. What else could I be missing?? Also, when I telnet to port 25 on my email server from the outside I get a bunch of weird garbage thats this "220 **********************************************************0*2***************
***************200**20*2******0*00 helo 500 5.3.3 Unrecognized command " Whats up with that??? |
|
#2
|
|||
|
|||
|
The Telnet reponse sounds troublesome. Can you post a screen cap of the cmd window for clarification?
|
|
#3
|
|||
|
|||
|
Thats basically it for the Mail Servers Host greeting. Do you know how to change that?? Also, just to give more info my domain is musowls.org and I went to www.dnsreport.com and put in my domain and found a couple of problems one being an SPF record and heres the NDR I get when I send email to the domain that bounces back
(The name is censored) The following recipient(s) could not be reached: ml*#(@stmarysschool.org on 11/4/2004 9:37 PM The e-mail system was unable to deliver the message, but did not report a specific reason. Check the address and try again. If it still fails, contact your system administrator. < barracuda.stmarysschool.org #5.0.0 X-Spam-Firewall; host 172.16.0.2[172.16.0.2] said: 553 Bad parameters to MAIL command. (in reply to MAIL FROM command)> |
|
#4
|
|||
|
|||
|
Yeah thats interesting I get the same response almost like their is some encryption or something. I don't know the reason(s), I'm pretty new to exchange myself
With the NDR, it looks like their filtering is rejecting you. |
![]() |
| Viewing: Dev Shed Forums > System Administration > Mail Server Help > Smart Host Problem |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
|
|